Overcome

Lost in the headlines and horrors of yesterday, I couldn’t imagine a single word of value that I could write. I could not simply ignore the events, nor could I imagine any more opinions needing to be added to the many already out there. I am still mourning. I am still breaking. I have not yet come up from my knees. So I wrote this:

Overcome

We like to think we can,

we shall.

We like to imagine they had,

they did.

We like to stand over it all,

and we do.

Up and over, surfing, skating, flying, trying, hands to the sky, gliding, higher, higher, higher,

Up in the clouds, untouched

until

falling

failing

breaking

taking

weighting, weighted, pushed, sedated, air like water, heavy, burdened, face pressed to the sand and trapped by an ocean

breathing next to nothing,

nothing.

We like to think it is what we will do.

But today I can do

nothing.

Today,

oh, today,

I just am.

Overcome.

Leave a comment