Pantoum and Licorice

 

It must be March. I’m just about over winter, a month early considering where I live. I am fighting the level of bored that leaves me witless and void of ideas of how I want to spend my time. I have an endless to-do list, but what I have to choose from each day is a deep and wide pile of boring options. My work ethic keeps me from having “fun” until my work is done, but I don’t feel like doing my work. So I do a lot of sitting and staring. It is riveting. I refused to write an entire post about boredom because that sounded boring, so what I did instead was edit a poem to share. It is a pantoum. A pantoum poem is written in quatrains, with a pattern that takes the second and fourth lines of the preceding stanza and makes them the first and third of the next. This is repeated until the last stanza, where the third line of the first stanza becomes the second of the last, and the first line of the poem becomes the final line. Did you catch all that? (I would like to add that this was also the most delicious blog photog session I have yet done. I cannot make the claim that no licorice was harmed in the process.)

 

The Envy of Prisoners

 

Distraction is the envy of prisoners

and the prison of the idle (though well-meaning) mind:

flies buzzing around a picnic,

expected, but no less vexing.

 

And the prison of the idle (though well-meaning) mind:

constructed of coffee, candy, and excuses,

expected, but no less vexing,

with bars soft as licorice you can chew through.

 

Constructed of coffee, candy, and excuses,

the desperate piping of asthmatic music,

with bars soft as licorice you can chew through,

conjures original thought with unoriginal emotion.

 

The desperate piping of asthmatic music,

pulsing along to enslave my quiet mind,

conjures original thought with unoriginal emotion

like the rhyme in a song I always get wrong.

 

Pulsing along to enslave my quiet mind,

flies buzzing around a picnic

like the rhyme in a song I always get wrong.

Distraction is the envy of prisoners.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Pantoum and Licorice”

  1. A post about boredom sounded boring, that made me laugh! I hope there was much harming of the red licorice!

Leave a Reply

